The Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation's (ATAGI) role is to:

For more detail, take a look at:


ATAGI members as at January 2017.

Voting members


Area of expertise


Prof Ross Andrews

Chair, Epidemiologist / Indigenous Health

Research Fellow
Global & Tropical Health Division
Menzies School of Health Research, Charles Darwin University, Brisbane

A/ Prof Christopher Blyth

Deputy Chair, Paediatric Infectious Diseases, Clinical Microbiology

Infectious Diseases Physician and Clinical Microbiologist
Princess Margaret Hospital for Children
Path West Laboratory and University of Western Australia

Prof Allen Cheng

Adult Infectious Disease, Epidemiology and Public Health

Infectious Disease Physician and Director
Infection Prevention Healthcare Epidemiology Unit, Alfred Health

Dr Nigel Crawford

Vaccine Safety and special risk groups

Surveillance of Adverse Events Following Vaccination In the Community (SAEFVIC)
Murdoch Children’s Research Institute

Head Immunisation Services
Royal Children’s Hospital, Melbourne

A/ Prof Michelle Giles

Adult Immunisation and Antenatal Infectious Disease

Infectious Diseases Physician
(Alfred Health, Monash Health, Royal Women’s Hospital, Sunshine Hospital)

Adult Immunisation Physician
(Monash Health, Sunshine Hospital)

Ms Madeline Hall

Public health nurse/ vaccination procedures

Nurse Practitioner on ATAGI, Queensland Health

A/ Prof Noel Hayman

Indigenous Health, Public Health

General Practitioner on ATAGI, Queensland

Prof David Isaacs

Use of vaccines and immunobiological agents in clinical practice and preventive medicine

Clinical Professor
Paediatrics & Child Health, Children's Hospital Westmead, University of Sydney

Prof Helen Marshall

Clinical and clinical trial/vaccine and infectious diseases research expertise

Senior Medical Practitioner, Adelaide Women’s & Children’s Hospital

Prof Jodie McVernon

Research/ clinical / laboratory vaccine research

Professor and Director of Doherty Epidemiology, the Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity, the University of Melbourne and the Royal Melbourne Hospital

Ms Debra Petrys

Consumer representative

Consumers Health Forum

Dr Nicholas Silberstein

General practice

General Practitioner on ATAGI, Victoria

Ex-officio members


Area of expertise


Dr Masha Somi

Representative from Department of Health

Assistant Secretary
Immunisation Branch
Department of Health

Dr Sonya Bennett

Communicable Diseases Network of Australia (CDNA)

Executive Director
Communicable Disease Branch, Queensland Health

Dr Ting Lu

Representative from the Therapeutic Goods Administration

Office of Medicines Authorisation
Market Authorisation Group, Therapeutic Goods Administration

Prof Peter McIntyre

National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance (NCIRS)

National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance

Paediatrician Specialising in Infectious Diseases and Medical Epidemiologist

Ms Karen Peterson

National Immunisation Committee (NIC)

National Immunisation Committee (NIC) nominee on ATAGI

Manager Immunisation Program, Department of Health, Queensland

Membership guidelines


ATAGI meet three times a year in February, June and October. Additional meetings may be held if needed.

Meeting agendas and bulletins (minutes) are organised by year.

If you require earlier editions of ATAGI agendas or bulletins please email atagi.secretariat [at]

2017 meetings 

2016 meetings

2015 meetings

Working Parties

ATAGI sets up working parties to look at diseases that can be prevented by vaccines and the future development of the Australian Immunisation Handbook.

Working parties prepare advice that is based on strong evidence and focused on the needs of the community. This includes reviewing and interpreting evidence on the effectiveness of vaccines. They provide this advice to the Department of Health and the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee (PBAC). Their advice is also used by ATAGI in its recommendations on vaccine use in the Australian Immunisation Handbook.

Each of the working parties/groups is chaired by an ATAGI member and includes experts in that working party or group's area of focus. Sometimes, a sub-group of the working party may take on pieces of specific work about specific issues.

View the purpose and members of the ATAGI Working Parties.


For further information, please contact us via our postal address or email.

ATAGI Secretariat Department of Health Immunisation Branch
GPO Box 9848 – MDP 13

Email: atagi.secretariat [at]

Last updated: 
Friday, December 15, 2017